Home > Destination > West India

West India is a loosely defined region of India consisting of its western part. the states of Goa, Gujarat, and Maharashtra along with the Union territory of Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli while the Ministry of Culture and some historians also include the state of Rajasthan.  West India is bounded by the Thar Desert in the north, the Vindhya Range in the east and north and the Arabian Sea in the west. A major portion of Western India shares the Thar Desert with North India and Pakistan and the Deccan Plateau with South and Central India.

In ancient history, Western India was divided into three great states according to Hwen Thsang, namely Sindh which comprised the whole valley of the Indus from the Punjab to the sea, including the Delta and the island of Kutch, Gurjara which comprised Western Rajputana and the Indian Desert), and Balabhi (which comprised the peninsula of Gujarat.

Translate »